Resource icon

Resource Name Windows

Mr. Gela

Discord: theo#7722
Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Posts
215
Mr. Gela submitted a new resource:

Mr. Gela's Name Windows - Enables the use of custom windows with names in them, to use for the name of NPCs, for example.

What's this?
See screenshots. owo

O.K. What do I do?
Import this Pastebin Link into a new script section. Use with the text code "\xn[text]".

It will default to the choice windowskin (left screenshot) but, if there's a file in the Windowskin folder called "speech whatever xn", it will use that one instead (right screenshot). A bunch of those are included in one of my other resources:...

Read more about this resource...
 

Hermanaso

Rookie
Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2017
Posts
1
I cant change names windowskin

I named the image ''speech 1 xn'', 'speec xn'', 'speech01xn'' and ''speech whatever xn'' and it didnt work. It always use the ''choice 1'' image

Anyways this script its so nice and easy to plug in
 

Mr. Gela

Discord: theo#7722
Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Posts
215
I cant change names windowskin

I named the image ''speech 1 xn'', 'speec xn'', 'speech01xn'' and ''speech whatever xn'' and it didnt work. It always use the ''choice 1'' image

Anyways this script its so nice and easy to plug in

My instructions might've been vague. Are you using the default windowskins that come in Essentials? ("speech hgss 1" etc). If you are, the "XN" filename should look like "speech hgss 1 xn".

Please, let me know if that was it. :-)
 

WolfPP

Discord Wolf#1235
Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2018
Posts
106
Age
29
Oh nice! Can we put image too? I mean, like RPG lol image instead text name. And both too LOL

Ty ty!
 

Diego Mertens

Rookie
Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2017
Posts
6
Hi, Mr. Gela!
I do it! I was coding since an hour, and I get what i'd want!
(en mi idioma/in my laguage)
¡Hola, Mr. Gela!
¡Lo hice! Estube codificando como por una hora, ¡Y conseguí hacerlo! Puse esto:
Ruby:
def pbDisplayNameWindow(msgwindow,param)
  if msgwindow.y <= 25
    namewindow=Window_AdvancedTextPokemon.new(_INTL("<ac>{1}</ac>",param))
    namewindow.setSkin("Graphics/Windowskins/"+MessageConfig::TextSkinName+" xn")
    namewindow.resizeToFit(namewindow.text,Graphics.width)
    namewindow.width=180 if namewindow.width<=180
    namewindow.width = namewindow.width
    namewindow.y=0
    namewindow.x=msgwindow.x
    namewindow.y+=OFFSET_NAMEWINDOWUP_Y
    namewindow.x+=OFFSET_NAMEWINDOW_X
    namewindow.viewport=msgwindow.viewport
    namewindow.z=msgwindow.z
    return namewindow
  else msgwindow.y >=25
    namewindow=Window_AdvancedTextPokemon.new(_INTL("<ac>{1}</ac>",param))
    namewindow.setSkin("Graphics/Windowskins/"+MessageConfig::TextSkinName+" xn")
    namewindow.resizeToFit(namewindow.text,Graphics.width)
    namewindow.width=180 if namewindow.width<=180
    namewindow.width = namewindow.width
    namewindow.y=msgwindow.y-namewindow.height
    namewindow.x=msgwindow.x
    namewindow.y+=OFFSET_NAMEWINDOW_Y
    namewindow.x+=OFFSET_NAMEWINDOW_X
    namewindow.viewport=msgwindow.viewport
    namewindow.z=msgwindow.z
    return namewindow
  end
end
And:
Ruby:
OFFSET_NAMEWINDOW_Y=0
OFFSET_NAMEWINDOW_X=0
OFFSET_NAMEWINDOWUP_Y=108
OFFSET_NAMEWINDOWUP_X=-1
 

Kartik

Disappointment
Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2018
Posts
123
Is it possible to change the windowskin for it in respect to the speech's windowskin

in the screenshot below you can see it still uses the windowskin for the first hgss frame and not the corresponding one even thou i have all the windowskins in the folder

 

Mr. Gela

Discord: theo#7722
Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Posts
215
Is it possible to change the windowskin for it in respect to the speech's windowskin

in the screenshot below you can see it still uses the windowskin for the first hgss frame and not the corresponding one even thou i have all the windowskins in the folder
It should be using the same windowskin unless your text command is overwriting that. Is that what's happening?
 

Kartik

Disappointment
Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2018
Posts
123
It should be using the same windowskin unless your text command is overwriting that. Is that what's happening?
This or any other event doesnt have a command and i havent changed anything related to it in the scripts as well
 

Kartik

Disappointment
Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2018
Posts
123
It should be using the same windowskin unless your text command is overwriting that. Is that what's happening?
Well i worked out with the script a bit
It still doesnt changes it itself but i managed to create an option for it
Thnx
 

Minorthreat0987

Rookie
Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2019
Posts
4
Sorry to necropost, my apologies if it's against the rules, I didn't see it anywhere.

Anyway, I am having issues with getting the text color in the NameWindow to adjust for a dark windowskin. I've attached my windowskin for reference. I've looked at the dark skin code in both the Message script and the NameWindow script and they seem to be the same. Any thoughts?

 

Mr. Gela

Discord: theo#7722
Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Posts
215
Sorry to necropost, my apologies if it's against the rules, I didn't see it anywhere.

Anyway, I am having issues with getting the text color in the NameWindow to adjust for a dark windowskin. I've attached my windowskin for reference. I've looked at the dark skin code in both the Message script and the NameWindow script and they seem to be the same. Any thoughts?

Since you ask so nicely
🥺
🥺
🥺
🥺




* Grab the updated script from the Resource post. Or here... * Use \dxn instead of \xn to use a dark skin.
* Filename should end in "xn dark" instead of just "xn".
LMK about any issues if you find 'em.
 

Minorthreat0987

Rookie
Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2019
Posts
4
Oh wow! I wasn't expecting you to re-write it just for me...I appreciate it though!! Thank you so much! It works like a charm now. Again I really appreciate it! :)
 

ribbit

Rookie
Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2020
Posts
1
Hey I was wondering if you were intending on making updates for compatibility with v18? I love this script so much.
 

Golisopod User

Elite Trainer
Member
Joined
May 11, 2020
Posts
255
Hey I was wondering if you were intending on making updates for compatibility with v18? I love this script so much.
Its actually very to make it v18 compatible. In the script, replace Kernel.pbDisplayMessage with just pbDisplayMessage
 
Last edited:

Mr. Gela

Discord: theo#7722
Member
Joined
Jul 19, 2015
Posts
215
Its actually a very easy fix. In the script, replace Kernel.pbDisplayMessage with just pbDisplayMessage
Some other method changed, 'pbCommaNumber' which was changed in favour of _formatted after '.to_s'.

Hey I was wondering if you were intending on making updates for compatibility with v18? I love this script so much.
Sorry I didn't check that in the first place in the previous update. There's now a V18-compatible version in the main thread.
 

Vxpor

Elite Trainer
Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2020
Posts
46
I love the script so far it's been working great! One thing I just wanted to ask. Are you able to call your rivals name with this? In my fangame, I want to let the player name their rival, and when the rival talks with the \xn command, it just appears as a 0. Usually, in text, you'd put your rival's name as \v[X], X being the number of the rival set in the Script Section Settings. Below is my text setup that makes it appear as 0. Thanks again for making the script!

 
Top